Mandarin Orange Monday 95

1bannerandbadge2-copy

 

The orange subject that I was talking about last week is now to be revealed… marmalade! As a surprise, my son, his wife and little Matty got together and made a special orange present for Gramp’s big birthday.

It was really a family effort too. Michael climbed the tree to pick the cumquats, while Matty and Cristina collected them into a bowl. Matty watched out for his daddy warning him  to be careful of the “flies and bees” up there. He was most concerned. Michael then photographed the bowl of cumquats to send off to Nanna Lori.

The family set to making Cumquat Marmalade – first find out how to do it, then  buy the necessary jar and other ingredients. Matty and his mum made the marmalade and put it int the jar. Then they all designed and made the label and, of course  the card. A true family effort and much appreciated by Gramps:) He says it is yummy too!

What is in this bag?

Michael_presWEB

Ahhh! My favourite!!

Graham_marmal

THE CUMQUATS

B_Cumquats_bowlwebb

Michael’s Iphoto capture of the goodies.

 

THE CARD

1_B_Card_1web

Gramp’s Card. Drawing by Matty.

2_B_Card_2WEB

Gramp’s Card. Drawing by Matty.

 

 

THE MARMALADE

Orangified using Photoshop. Hue/Saturation and Selective Colour

and NIk Color Efex Filter – Color Glow.

9_B_Marmalade_1web

10_C_Marmal_Card_3WEB12_C_Marmal_cheq_3WEBB

 Linking to Sweet Shot Tuesday 

Processed using Topaz  and Nik Color Efex Filters

15_D_Marmal_cheq_3WEB

Topaz Clarity  (macro) and Detail filters.

16_D_Marmalade_1WEB

Nik Color Efex filters.

Linking to Nature Footstep Catching the Light

17_D_Marmalade_cheq_2WEB

Nik Color Efex Polaroid Transfer Filter.

18_D_Marmalade_chequer_1WEB

Topaz Simplify – Color Sketch Filter.

 

Playtime using Photoshop Filter Gallery, Nik Color Efex and Topaz Filters

20_E_MarmaladePlay4WEB21_E_MarmaladePlay5

Linking to Creative Every Day

19_E_MarmaladePlay3WEB

Linking to Paint Party Friday

22_E_MarmaladePlay2WEB

 Linking to Nature Footstep Abstract

mom_badgeweb

 

Thank you for taking part, not only in Mandarin Orange Monday, but my family’s celebration. I wonder if any of you have celebration pics this week to share?

If you are wondering how to join in and add your pic to the linky list, please visit  this Mandarin Orange Monday page. You can also find links to previous MoM’s here as well as my Mandarin Orange Monday badge.

31 thoughts on “Mandarin Orange Monday 95

  1. Oh a jar of Orange Love … how absolutly awesome, Lori. It is clear to me that Matty is following in his Artistic Nanna’s footsteps. You have a wonderful family, indeed … and, Happy Birthday to Gramps.

    Andrea @ From The Sol

  2. Pingback: Lighting Up Istanbul | Travel with Intent

  3. Pingback: Monday Mellow Yellow – 89 | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  4. Well, it looks as though good fun was had by all! Love the colours in those last three images.
    A few oranges in my photos this week, Lori. Sunny day that brought up the glow of orange in unexpected places.

  5. The jam looks like such a fun present to give Gramps, and he must appreciate your involving the grandkids with their cooking help, card, and labels. How cute! I like your artistic treatments, especially the first one.

  6. How special and what a great decoration Matty made for the jar! I especially like all the colors and alterations to the second set of photos! What does Matty think?

  7. I made cumquat marmalade a couple of years ago with fruit from my sister’s tree. I think I prefer the “French marmalade” I make better. My sister also made a delicious chutney from the cumquats. I love the label with the children’s drawings, and all the different processings.
    Have a wonderful week, and thank you for stopping by my blog. I will have to find a “orange” pic to post on your Orange Monday.

  8. Hi Lori, happy birthday! I wont say i appreciate much the art of the grandma (haha), but the grandson’s! Matty is so sweet and the family effort is really so beautiful. I am sure grandma will treasure this presents.

  9. Greetings from Egypt! Just found your blog and excited to learn more about your mandarin orange monday linkup! I love cumquats, my best friend when I was growing up in southern california had a potted cumquat tree in her front porch, great memories you brought back for me, thanks very much!

  10. Wow! Looks like you had such fun! I have never had much luck making orange marmalade it never sets even if I add gelatine. Maybe I am adding too much water! Such cute jar designs. Happy PPF

      • The recipe for the cumquat marmalade came from “The Cook’s Companion” by Stephanie Alexander (She is an Australian cook, restaurateur and food writer). I found the recipe reproduced on this site http://herbandlace.com/cumquat-marmalade/

        The only change we made was a half teaspoon of freshly grated ginger in the last 10 minutes of cooking. Not sure if this translates to orange marmalade but you could give it a try 🙂

  11. This is what I wrote when I first read your post…. you will laugh yourself silly::))))!!!!!

    “I gave that book to my son as a birthday present some years ago! Maybe that is the very recipe they used:)) Fancy that! A real coincidence!”
    Thank you Matty’s mummy x

  12. Pingback: Cumquat Marmalade Update | LorikArt

Leave a Reply

