Mandarin Orange Monday 73

1BannerandBadge2 copy

Queen Victoria Building at Christmas

Every year the  majestic Queen Victoria Building  (QVB) in Sydney has a stunning Christmas tree displayed. This year was no different – it was decorated with sparkling crystals. Not that the QVB really needs this added treat…it is always a spectacle with its stained glass windows and other ornamentation.

These photos were taken with my iPhone but later edited and played with using Photoshop. One day soon I will return with my camera. And later I might tell you (and show you) what I was actually doing there that day. It wasn’t just to shop!

2qvb_xmastr_2WEB

1. Christmas Tree at QVB. Iphone photo. Contrast and curves adjusted.

1qvbwindowbWEB

2. Stained Glass Windows at QVB. iPhone photo. Contrast and Curve adjustments.

4qvb_xmastr_3bw_2WEB

3. Desaturated. Nik Silver Efex and PS photo filter.

3qvbwindowsbwWEB

4. Desaturated. Nik Silver Efex. PS photo filter.

6qvb_xmastr_2cWEB

5. Crop. Selective Colour and Hue/Saturation adjustments. PS Photo Filter. Increased vibrance. Nik Color Efex – Reflector Effects.

5qvbwindowcWEB

6. Crop. Selective Colour and Hue/Saturation adjustments. PS Photo Filter. Increased vibrance. Nik Color Efex – Reflector Effects

8qvb_xmastr_2fweb

7. As Above. Crop. Plus Nik Color Efex – Cross Balance. Topaz Clean – Curly Smooth and Stylise Details. Topaz Detail – Color Jump.

7qvbwindowd-fweb

8. As Above.

9qvb_xmastr_2hweb

9. Playing with layers and transparencies.

mom_badgeWEB-

Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas!

We are all looking forward to seeing your orange art again… I wonder if it has a festive or holiday theme? It is up to you:)

More information on MoM and how to join in the fun!

More information on the QVB.

25 thoughts on “Mandarin Orange Monday 73

  1. Okay … you give us this beautiful post with wonderful editing and then you slip in the “someday I’ll tell you …!” Are you kidding … someday? It must have been very special for you to say that and now my curiosity will keep me up at night 🙂 When is someday and how long do I have to suffer? Anyway … the building is magnificent and I am guessing a highlight of a visit to Sydney. The tree, I love and I love that with all the oranging, you left it blue … Beautifully done, Lori …

    May your Christmas Holidays be Blessed with joy and love …

    Andrea @ From The Sol

  2. Pingback: Mandarin Orange Monday 73 | Ritva's Art

  3. Pingback: Bird Cages | Travel with Intent

  4. Pingback: Blessed Christmas and Holidays | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  5. stunning photos Lori and I can only imagine what that stained glass looks like in person! I’ve always loved cathedrals. Best wishes for a beautiful Christmas!

  6. Pingback: Winter Wonderland | Eden Hills's Blog

  7. So sad I have missed this Christmas-Monday! I was not at home and had no access to the internet..buuuhh 😉 Now that I am home again I am glad to enjoy my studio again! Your colorful compositions are sooo beautiful and the last one is my all favorite 😀 Hope you have had a wonderful Christmas and wish you all the best for the new year to come ♥ Conny
    Piaroms Art Journaling

Leave a Reply

