Mandarin Orange Monday 61

Image

Last week we had an  early start to “the bushfire season”. It wasn’t as disastrous as many but was devastating to one unfortunate family who lost their home. There were several fires that day and they were quite close to Sydney. So we experienced a weird, orange glowing light. One series of pics are the view through my sunroom window, the other is a cute painted fish money box which my grandson loves. It became even more colourful and striking and gained stripes in that light.

 

I tried to keep the processing simple this time. Many of the images are manipulated using only default Photoshop Filter Gallery. The last few show changes made with Topaz and Nik Color Efex.

1webbushfirelight-2web

View Through Window. Sharpened and enhanced.

2bushfirelight-2bweb

View Through Window – Nik Color Efex – Colorize

3bushfirelight-2cweb

View Through Window – Photoshop Filter Gallery – Cut Out 

4bushfirelight1web

View Through Window – Square section cropped. Photoshop Filter Gallery – Cut Out and Ink Outlines

Image

1. Left. Original shot cropped and sharped. Right. Nik Color Efex – Colorize.

Image

2.Left. Cropped and Sharpened. Centre. Nik Color Efex – Colorize. Right. Photoshop Filter Gallery – Sume

Image

3. Left. Cropped and Sharpened. Centre. Nik Color Efex – Colorize. Right. Photoshop Filter Gallery – Plastic Wrap, Dark Strokes

Image

4.Left. Cropped and Sharpened. Centre. Nik Color Efex – Colorize. Right. Photoshop Filter Gallery – Dark Strokes.

Image

5. Left. Cropped and Sharpened. Centre. Nik Color Efex – Colorize. Right. Photoshop Filter Gallery – Ink Outlines

Image

6. Crop Square Selection. Nik Color Efex – Colorize. Topaz Clean – Stylize Details

Image

7. Photoshop Adjustments (?). Topaz Clean – Stylize Details

Image

8. Photoshop Adjustments (?). Topaz Simplify (twice) Cartoon.

Image

9. Combination of No. 6 and No. 8. Adjust Transparency (40%). Color Burn. Crop. Flatten Layers. Adjust Levels .

Image

10. As Above plus Nik Color Efex – Polaroid Transfer. Adjust Curves.

Image

11. Played!

Image

12. Played!

mom_badgeWEB-1

It is time again to share your orange PHOTO ART or other ARTWORK (painting, drawing, sculpture etc).
Just add it to the linky list below.
Don’t forget to visit some other participants and leave a comment! And please link back to here. I would love you to add my MoM button to your site!

More information on Mandarin Orange Monday

Linking to NF Inspiring Photography/Catching the Light and NF Abstract

22 thoughts on “Mandarin Orange Monday 61

  1. Pingback: Monday Mellow Yellow – 65 | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  2. So sorry for the family who lost their home and also the multitude of wildlife that suffered this fire … It is amazing how your art diverts our attention for the horrors of the fire to the beauty in yet another of nature’s amazing conponents. My favorites are # 4 of the first group and 9&10 of the second. I learned a new idea from your processes and will be experimenting with it soon … You are just an awesome lady. Lori!

    Andrea @ From The Sol

    P.S. The Linky only allowed me 10 spaces for my name … that’s a first! When did that happen?

    • Sorry Andrea…my fault. I will change the settings… I used the new linky method and for the first few hours (while I was fast asleep in the middle of the night!) no pics or names appeared.
      I look forward to seeing your new trick:)

  3. It is always such fun to see your creativity. I have never tried anything like this with my photos.

    My yellow is a beautiful sari – but you can only see part of it, with lots of bangles…including one orange one.

  4. Pingback: The Colours of La Boqueria | Travel with Intent

    • You were lucky DawnTreader….mine didn’t show up either for the first few hours.. When i realised it I contacted inlinkz and they very quickly helped me to fix it. Phew!

  5. Fires have been terrible here this year. As a graduate student 40 years ago they were teaching the importance of controlled burns to reduce fire potential but it is unfortunately not practiced.
    I love your effects, especially your last 2 images, so creative. My old photoshop lacks all those special filters.

    • Hannah in this case it one of the fires was a controlled burn that went wrong. The creek that was supposed to control it was empty! I would love to live in the mountains…but so much risk of fire there:(

  6. Ohhh so sad, I have missed this beautiful collection….I had not much internettime this week and had to upload my challenge.. I love your windowview and when the fish comes together with the trees!! What a “aha-effect” ..love that! Hopefully next week I will be more aware of the magical Mandarin Orange Monday 😉 ♥ Conny
    Mix It Monthly

Leave a Reply

