Australian Icon of the Fifties and Sixties

The Hills Hoist….still standing in my dad’s backyard.

Most Australians of my generation and older will remember this Australian icon…the Hills Hoist. There are still some standing but I think not for much longer. There was one in my backyard when I moved here 30 years ago…but alas… we pulled it down.. to be replaced by our son’s climbing frame. 
They actually were very useful items…the perfect clothesline, that is, if you had a big backyard as most of us did back then in the suburbs.

Hills Hoist with contemporary icon

6 thoughts on “Australian Icon of the Fifties and Sixties

  1. Omg I love your digital edit…GORGEOUS…LOVE pink and orange together too!! We had a clothes line here in Canada when I was growing up but crossed from the house to a pole in our yard… Everywhere I lived after that they weren't allowed. My daughters mother in law who raised ten kids still has one!! Thanks for the wonderful walk down memory lane!Hugs Giggles

  2. They hold alot of clothes, those old clotheslines. We had one similar in our backyard here in the Us, but not so sturdy as this one. I still have a single line that goes from porch to tree. I love the smell of clothes dried in the sun. Thanks for the walk back to childhood and making your Hills Hoist into high art! Love the contrat of the sattelite dish and the clothesline. xox

Leave a Reply

