Mandarin Orange Monday 53

You know about “The Shed” but  I don’t think I have told you about “The Other Shed”. Yes, my father not only had a huge shed for his carpentry, his art and later in life for his hoarding but there is another smaller one. This little shed was actually my first home. My mum, dad and I lived there while he built our house, before my sister and brother were born. Apparently I was very good at making things from tins of flower and sugar etc, that I found in the big green cupboard. I still remember all the locks that were eventually added – for my benefit, no doubt.
 This shed later housed a “lavatory” as they were once called, a laundry and a workshop. I remember many hours “helping Dad” in that little workshop. I have rescued the vice that held my constructions – maybe I will photograph it one day. 
In later years the workshop section became another place of storage – from art materials, to wood – you name it. I even found my final year high school  and first year art school drawings, painting and even an old plaster sculpture.
Here are  a few pics of this little old shed. The collage below shows the door, a wall with an old notice still attached, some stacks of wood which reminded me of Braque paintings and finally two images of the roof. We were hoping to find a treasure in the roof….but just dust and paper.
Collage of interior of little shed.
Photoshop adjustments in curves etc and
Nik Color Efex Filter – Tonal Contrast and High Key (various strengths)
Photoshop Hue/Saturation.
Increase Red and Yellow

Photoshop Poster Edges Filter.
Photoshop Selective Colour and
Hue/ Saturation.
 Photoshop Filter – Poster Edges. 

Photoshop Hue/Saturation and Selective Colour.
Photoshop Poster Edges

Cropped Square.
Photoshop Selective Colour and Hue/Saturation.Topaz Clean Filter – Crisp Style
Nik Color Efex – Pastel, Polaroid Transfer, Film Efex.
Topaz Clean Filter – Curly Smooth
Topaz Detil Filter -Shadow Relief.
Nik Color Efex – Polaroid Transfer again.

 Photoshop Hue/Saturation. Photoshop Poster Edges filter.

Photoshop Selective Colour and Hue/Saturation.
Topaz Clean Filter – Crisp Style
Nik Color Efex – Pastel, Polaroid Transfer, Film Efex.
Topaz Clean Filter – Curly Smooth
Topaz Detil Filter -Shadow Relief.

Photoshop Hue/Saturation and
Selective Colour.
Photoshop Filter – Poster Edges

Photoshop Increase Vibrance. Photoshop Selective Colour (increase Cyan).
PS Quick Selection too – select left section and adjust colour.
PS Poster Edges.

4e2
 Cropped – square.
PS Selective Colour.
PS Hue/Saturation changes.
White to cyan.

Crop Square. Topaz Stylise Details.
 Nik Color Efex – Polorization
PS Adust Curves etc.

Same as above. Plus Duplicate layer –
Topaz Simplify – Sketch Colouor – adjust transparency.

As Above. Brighten –  PS Increase Vibrancy
 and Adjust Selective Colour and Hue/Saturation.
Nik Color Efex – Polorization.

As Above. Add more colour
Nik Color Efex – Saturation Stylizer and Cross Processing Filters.
Photoshop – Hue/Saturation, Selective Colour.
Equalize.
Nik Color Efex – Saturation Styliser 50%
Duplicate layer and copy and paste – rotating and changing transparency.
Photoshop Hue/Saturation, Selective Colour.
Poster Edges Filter.
Combination of two images.
Nik Color Efex – Burnt Siena
Duplicate layer -copy and paste different direction.
PS Color Dodge.

The following three images are linked to Mariane’s Your Own Edit , where I have used her brushes in my shed door pic.


Congratulations to beccagivens 
of 

You are the winner of the 52 week MoM Giveaway!

Becca chose a pendant – actually – one of two pendants from my Etsy Shop. 


document.write(”);

24 thoughts on “Mandarin Orange Monday 53

  1. how wonderful. So many memories in an old shed. And then the possibility to make art of it. You really should photograph all of it. There of plenty of room in our computers. I can´t chose any. They are all great. Maybe because I also love old heds. 🙂

  2. You are right …lots of room and back up drives. I am going back in the morning with my camera…but sad that it is getting emptier and emptier….I also plan to do some painting based on them…:)

  3. Awwww Lorik, so sweet to follow you in that cosy old room with so much story holding in its walls…really love the views you had choosen, especcialle the wall with all the papers and then added blue around it ♥ Connyhttp://piaromsartjournaling.blogspot.de

  4. Oh the magic of an old shed, Lori, especially one that speaks to your past. Your pictures are wonderful and you edits delectable. No treasures? Isn't finding your old art work a treasure. To remember where you have been and how life has changed you … that is a gift. So much fun. I hope we will see some of those Lori's beginnings … :)Andrea @ From The Sol

  5. A friend sent me here – Carolyn Dube – don't know why I never came before I love orange. Sheds are fabulous places – always full of mystery about what might be behind that stack of wood or whatever. Fantastic digital manipulations of plain old wood, they are otherworldly. Thanks for hosting. xox

  6. Thank you so much for your comments. I read them with great eagerness every week:) So many of us cling to our childhood memories, and enjoy revisiting them as I have been doing.Unfortunately, this week I have been without a working internet connection (email only ) until now…. almost time for the next MoM! I haven't been able to even load your blogs to return your visits and respond to your comments – I haven't even been able to load my own blog .So I have to say THANK YOU to everyone – for your art and your comments…here all in one go!However, I will TRY to visit everyone briefly tonight (Saturday here).Lori

  7. Thank you so much for your comments. I read them with great eagerness every week:) So many of us cling to our childhood memories, and enjoy revisiting them as I have been doing.Unfortunately, this week I have been without a working internet connection (email only ) until now…. almost time for the next MoM! I haven't been able to even load your blogs to return your visits and respond to your comments – I haven't even been able to load my own blog .So I have to say THANK YOU to everyone – for your art and your comments…here all in one go!However, I will TRY to visit everyone briefly tonight (Saturday here).Lori

Leave a Reply

