Mandarin Orange Monday 36

My pictures today are based on slides I took long ago…1977 in fact. They are quite grainy and not the perfect images to work with, but I was determined, very determined, to make them into something interesting. 
That year was one of the most exciting years of my life. My new husband and I set off for a year’s travel with nothing but our backpacks. We didn’t call it backpacking then, but we did call the route the hippy trail – or the overland trip. We set off from Sydney in January, my very first trip outside Australia, and we travelled across Asia and Europe to the UK. It took us about six months. In the UK we did what many young travellers did then, we bought a VW combi and headed back to Europe. We returned to Australia just in time for Christmas.

The place – Nepal, high in the Himalayas and quite close to the Chinese border.

1. Nik Color Efex – Reflector Effects, Foliage.
Levels and Curves Adjustments
2.Cropped 16 x 9.
Desaturate all but red and yellow.
Selective Color adjustments.
Increased Vibrance.
Topaz Clean – Crisp Style
3. Nik Color Efex – Reflector Effects, Foliage.
Levels and Curves Adjustments
4.Cropped 16 x 9.
Desaturate all but red and yellow.
Selective Color adjustments.
Increased Vibrance

5.  Cropped 16 x 9.
Desaturate all but red and yellow.
Selective Color adjustments.

6.  Cropped 16 x 9.
Desaturate all but red and yellow.
Selective Color adjustments.

7. Cropped 16 x 9.
Desaturate all but red and yellow.
Selective Color adjustments.
Nik Color Efex – Reflective Effect
Nik Col Efex – Reflective Effects.
Increased Vibrance.
Levels, Curves adjustments
Cropped 16 x 9
Desaturated all but red.

I aslo made various Topaz filter adjustments – Topaz Clean, both Curly Smooth and Crisp Style and Topaz DeNoise. Unfortunately I got lost trying to decipher my notes!

I couldn’t resist making a few more…. still not entirely happy with the results…but I think these are better. Lots of fun though:)


document.write(”);

20 thoughts on “Mandarin Orange Monday 36

  1. I love mountains… they actually lift my spirits… My last year vacations were in Kashmir…the paradise on earth…your photos made me relive my memories 🙂

  2. I love your photos! the technology is a bit above my head but I certainly enjoy your results…Ritu is right…mountains seem spiritual somehow. Lovely work! happy PPF!

  3. Trekking in Nepal, what most of us did, or wanted to do back then! I like what you have done with your picures. I remember orange being such a prominent colour in that area of the world with the Buddhist influences.

  4. I keep forgetting to tell you how much I love how you manipulate your photos! Makes me want to go back to see what I can play with in my Flickr sets now!

  5. Love your wonderful photos this time especcially! The himalaya one is so imposing! and I love the womens pose and her skirt AND of course her cool allstars, hehe…big hugs ♥ Connyhttp://piaromsartjournaling.blogspot.de

Leave a Reply

