Birthday Favourites – Especially for "Grow Your Blog" Party

Yesterday was my birthday and to celebrate we had a family lunch. My husband cooked one of my favourite meals, West African Groundnut Stew. It is a vegetarian recipe from one of my collection of Moosewood cookbooks which I have had for years – “New Recipes from the Moosewood Restaurant”.   For the non-vegetarians in the family (everyone but me!) there was also chicken. He even made a less spicy version for my 91 year old father and our 2 3/4 year old grandson.  It was absolutely delicious, as was the cake and ice-cream of course!

West African Groundnut Stew

Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 45 mins
Total time: 1 hour
Serves: 4 to 6
The recipe for the stew was adapted from a version from Sierra Leone, Africa.
Ingredients
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
3 tablespoons grated fresh ginger root
2 tablespoons ground coriander
½ teaspoon cayenne (or to taste)
4 cups chopped onions
2 tomatoes, chopped
4 cups peeled and cubed eggplant
½ cup vegetable stock or water
1 cup chopped zucchini or yellow summer squash
2 green peppers, coarsely chopped
2 cups tomato juice
½ cup peanut butter
Instructions
Steam or boil the sweet potato cubes until just tender.
Meanwhile, sauté the garlic, ginger, and spices in oil for one minute.
Add the onions and cook until they begin to soften.
Add the tomatoes, eggplant and a small amount of vegetable stock or water and simmer for 10 minutes.
Add the zucchini and peppers and continue to simmer until all of the vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes.
Drain the sweet potatoes and add them to the stew along with the tomato juice and peanut butter. Stir well.
Simmer on very low heat for 5 to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking.
Serve on rice, couscous or millet.
Notes

At Moosewood we garnish this stew with optional hard-boiled egg halves, and pineapple and banana slices.
Variations popular at Moosewood:
Substitute 3 cups of chopped green cabbage, and 1½ to 2 cups chopped okra for the eggplant, and add 1 cup of apple or apricot juice and some chopped fresh cilantro leaf.

Reprinted from New Recipes from Moosewood Restaurant, Copyright © 1987 by Moosewood, Inc. Ten Speed Press, publisher.




My birthday celebrations are in three parts actually. Friday I was treated to my favourite ice-cream sundae at Via Veneto in the city by my husband. On Friday it reached 45.8C (114.5 F) in the city – for the first time ever. Ice -cream was just the thing!

Iphone pic of my yummy sundae. 

The third part of my birthday celebration will be dinner with good friends at my newly found favourite restaurant, Green Gourmet, a vegan Buddhist restaurant.  Being  Buddhist, not only are they vegan but they don’t use garlic and onion in their cooking. Garlic doesn’t like me (horrific headaches) so it is the perfect place for me to eat. I hope my non vegetarian friends enjoy it too.

Thank you to Vicki at 2 Bags Full for organising the “Grow Your Blog” party – and on my birthday too!

11 thoughts on “Birthday Favourites – Especially for "Grow Your Blog" Party

  1. Hi Lori, I have missed you since we both left Inspiration Ave. I was glad to see you participating in the blog party… even though we both already follow one another. I didn't realize it was your birthday so late Happy Birthday and for the recipe that I must try… it looks yummy! I'm trying to go back to being vegetarian…so any recommendations are always welcome! :DHugs,Beth P

  2. Happy birthda! I"m on my way, save me some food. :-)) And do come to visit my blog, since the party goes on. I have a nice vintage lace book to giveaway. See you there.

Leave a Reply

