Mandarin Orange Monday #10. My Father’s Shed

Last week when I visited my father he told me that he had some huon pine (for sculpture) to give me, but I must go down to the shed to get it. The shed! The shed that I haven’t been inside for years, the shed that no-one has been inside for a very long time. 
The shed was the centre of my father’s life, both working life and home life. It, and it’s predessor, a much smaller one, was always full of tins, tools, machines and the smell of sawdust. When I was a child I used fossick through stuff and   “help daddy” by hammering bits of wood together. And it is all still there. Untouched. 
The next time I visited I took my camera. Unfortunately it was an overcast day – so not so good for taking photos inside. This is one of them. This picture shows a shelf just inside the door.
The following images are again, where I had fun with “orange-ing” and other processing. I increased saturation and vibrancy of reds and yellows and decreased all other colours. I  heightened tonal contrast and tried to make shapes more defined. 
I mostly used Poster Edges filter and HDR toning. In HDR toning I applied Photo Realistic Contrast (high and low) and Saturation. Finally edges were sharpened.
I always enjoy isolating  sections of images and blowing them up – obviously an influence from my teaching days. It is always a good way to begin, both in painting and design. The last two show the section I found most interesting (and it got rid of that annoying bag hanging at the side). The colours here remind me a bit of 17th century dutch and flemish painting. What do you think?


document.write(”);

Linking to Weekly Top Shot, Your Sunday Best, Mellow Yellow Monday, NF Inspiring Photography, Our World TuesdayWordless Wednesday.

46 thoughts on “Mandarin Orange Monday #10. My Father’s Shed

  1. You brought back such a great memory for me when I would wander into my dad's work shed down the garden when I was a kid – he was a carpenter, and the smell of wood still takes me back there! What a brilliant shed your dad has with all those wonders on the shelves, love it.

  2. Leovi, this shed has been closed up and unused for years. He would have no hope of finding anything! But it has great memories for him. He even has old birthday cards and other mementos hanging from the roof.

  3. I can relate to the nostalgic attachment – my father didn't have a shed, but did have a workshop at the back of the house. He was a creative man and enjoyed working on small-to-medium sized projects. We had some great shared times there. Thanks for sharing your pics and history.

  4. oh boy, american pickers would love that shed! reminds me of my grandpa's shed where he'd make his own shotgun shells and when i would be over and complaining about being bored he'd send me in to make some…i can even smell the smells of oil right now thinking about it 🙂 great memories…

  5. Now, that is what a well used shed should look like. It speaks to years of accomplishment including yours when you were young. Your edits make it more beautiful and defined, but the shed speaks for itself. You are so observant and creative …Andrea @ From The Sol

  6. I am amazed at the wonderful edit!! Just a terrific eye. It's so beautiful, and colorful!!! Quite an arduous task for anyone who might have to dismantle it one day!! Thanks for sharing…Inspires me to purge more of my own stuff!!Hugs Giggles

  7. I really enjoyed your photos as well as your "tutorial". As a new photographer who is wanting to learn I really appreciated that. Love the shed, so many fun things to look at. Jenny~Black Fox Homestead

  8. Greatly captured, Lorik! Yes, I think it has the flavor of Jan Steen, a Dutch painter (about the 16th century) so much known for clutter in his painting scenes, that it has become a saying in Holland, "a household of Jan Steen."

  9. One thing I have noticed reading your comments is how many of us share a similar memory connected to sheds/workshops – fathers, uncles, grandfathers etc. And we also still remember the smell – the sawdust, the oil etc. They really are fascinating places, aren't they?! Some of you commented on how much was in his shed – you are right there! and you are also right if you said he seemed to have kept every nail, bolt etc.True! Hoarder? True!Ann, he was a carpenter like your father. Valerie, he was a creative man like yours. He painted, carved, main leadlight windows, lamps etc, even made jewellery for a while. Now he is happy just to look at art/nature around him.Jesh, you are right about Jan Steen! And interesting what you said about the saying in Holland "a household of Jan Steen".Thanks everyone for your comments. I really find them interesting. And thanks for the nice things you have said about the work – both mine and others in MoM.

  10. I must be honest here…I would NEVER go in that room or any place like this for fear of breaking something that anyone who has a work area like this, something they'd sorely need or want to use in their next project.By the way, love the parrot broach!!

  11. Lovely post and very nice shed!Thanks for sharing. And thanks for your visit a couple of weeks ago!!!And sorry for being late to visit you. I'm a member now and I'll look for orange shots in my stock so I can link too;o)***Hope you are having a nice week****

Leave a Reply

