Photoshop Edits_View Across Iron Cove

I regularly walk around Iron Cove, well, not so regularly, sometimes it becomes almost a weekly affair.  At times I walk around the entire bay but often it is just across the bridge. Laziness is often the reason but sometimes I assign blame to a cold or sore leg. No one is perfect! 
This is a boat shed with a slipway which may occasionally have a boat on it. This time it didn’t. I took the photo with  my iPhone – who wants to lug around a heavy camera on a “fitness walk”. Carrying a water bottle is  bothersome enough! 
The first photo has minimal editing using Photoshop to give it more contrast and tonal depth. I then proceeded to “play with Photoshop” ending up with something that reminds me of a Japanese woodblock print or perhaps a comic strip. The main adjustments I used were Saturation and Selective Colour, Levels  and Colour Dodge. And of course my favourite filter, Poster Edges. 
I couldn’t resist cropping to a square-the red bit in the front annoyed me. But maybe the red bit does work with the saturated images, linking up with all that red next to the shed.

This post is linked to Photo Art Friday – which was my inspiration. Bonnie’s theme this week is Container and in this case, a “boat container”.

It is also linked to Friday’s Fences – I wonder how long it takes to spot the fence!

23 thoughts on “Photoshop Edits_View Across Iron Cove

  1. I really enjoyed the entire progression of edits. That is the perfect photograph with which to make photo art! Thanks for linking up with Photo Art Friday, Lorik.

  2. I actually didn't notice the fence at first either. I was looking at it wishing I had included the fence which i had pushed my camera (iphone) through – for Friday Fences. And there it was – a shadow!Thanks everyone for your comments:)

  3. Wonderful starting photo, it's visually interesting with all the different elements.I enjoyed all your edits but I think the last one without that bit of (red) is my favorite.

  4. Wonderful starting photo, it's visually interesting with all the different elements.I enjoyed all your edits but I think the last one without that bit of (red) is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

